Zach Jones head shot


Lubbock Christian and Trinity Christian filled up the 2019 All-District 1-3A team in a season when both were contenders for at the state level.

The Eagles claimed seven spots on the 12-person first team and the Lions had five.

Alex Timmons Cash Howard

Lubbock Christian pitcher Alex Timmons and catcher Cash Howard were both voted to the All-District 1-3A first team.

Trinity senior Zach Jones got the nod as the Player of the Year, while Lubbock Christian’s Merritt McPherson earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Lion outfielder was voted the Offensive MVP, Lubbock Christian shortstop Brayden Martin received Defensive MVP recognition and Trinity’s Cadon Everett was voted the Utility Player of the Year.

Eagle multi-sport star Cash Howard turned his first varsity season into one to remember and was picked as the district Newcomer of the Year.

Lubbock Christian advanced to the State Tournament for the sixth year in a row, falling to Willow Park Trinity, 3-1. The Lions also lost to Willow Park, 8-5 in the second round.


First team

Zach Jones, Sr. | Trinity Christian

Cash Howard, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Roman Thompson, Jr. | Trinity Christian

Merritt McPherson, Sr. | Lubbock Christian

Cadon Everett, So. | Trinity Christian

Brayden Martin, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Alex Timmons, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Josh Redding, So. | Lubbock Christian

Jake Ortiz, Jr. | Trinity Christian

Kaylom Coats, So. | Lubbock Christian

Parker Rumsey, Sr. | Lubbock Christian

Brady Alexander, So. | Trinity Christian

Player of the Year– Zach Jones, Trinity Christian

Pitcher of the Year – Merritt McPherson, Lubbock Christian

Offensive MVP – Roman Thompson, Trinity Christian

Defensive MVP – Brayden Martin, Lubbock Christian

Utility Player of the Year – Cadon Everett, Trinity Christian

Newcomer of the Year – Cash Howard, Lubbock Christian

Coach of the Year – Brandon Walker, Lubbock Christian

Second team

Zeke Lott, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Ethan Lujan, Sr. | Midland Trinity

Evyn Timmons, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Cade Landrum, So. | Lubbock Christian

Dawson Butts, Sr. | Midland Trinity

Evan Madsen, So. | Trinity Christian

Trey Molina, Sr. | Trinity Christian

Regan Havens, Sr. | Trinity Christian

Ethan Howard, Sr. | Lubbock Christian

Brennon Kennady, Jr. | Midland Trinity

Dustin Delaney, Jr. | Lubbock Christian

Thomas McGill, Sr. | Trinity Christian

Honorable mention

Lubbock Christian – Chris Henry, Sr.; Adam Branson, Sr.; Grant Leverett, Sr.

Trinity Christian – Drew Ashworth, So.; Kolton Jiron, Sr.; Cole Drum, So.; Carson Kerr, Jr.

Midland Trinity – Andrew Varner, Fr.; Adin Watson, Jr.; Max Henderson, Jr.; Barrett Branch, Fr.; John Paul Fanous, Jr.